Menu Close

ECSACOG is governed by the Executive Committee through the Council (Council comprises the Executive Committee and Country Representatives) headed by the President. The Council is responsible for ensuring the objectives of the college are achieved on behalf of its members.


Our President and Executive Committee

Professor Annettee Nakimuli is the President of ECSACOG

As President, Professor Annettee Nakimuli is responsible for overseeing all matters of ECSACOG with the support of our Executive Committee and Council. Prof Annettee Nakimuli represents ECSACOG on the ECSA College of Health Sciences and on other international bodies.

Professor Annettee Nakimuli is the Dean of the School of Medicine at Makerere University in Uganda. She is a previous Chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at Makerere University and a leading maternal health researcher and also clinically active as an obstetrician. Her clinical expertise is high risk obstetrics and works at Mulago Specialized Womens and Neonatal Hospital and Kawempe National Referral Hospital.

 Nakimuli’s PhD research was a land mark study as was the first genetic case-control study on pre-eclampsia among indigenous Africans despite African ancestry being a predisposing factor to pre-eclampsia. In particular, she investigated the interactions between maternal and fetal immune system genes (KIR and HLA) and the risk of pre-eclampsia in an African population. Currently, her research group’s primary research interest is pre-eclampsia. The group is also interested in functional characterization of other pregnancy complications common in Ugandan women such as fetal growth restriction, preterm birth, intrauterine fetal death and pathogen infections during pregnancy. These studies aim at development of tools that will improve prediction, management and prevention of these pregnancy complications. 

Prof. Nakimuli is currently a recipient of the Calestous Juma Science Leadership Award by the Bills and Melinda Gates Foundation. She is also an International Fellow at Wellcome Sanger Institute in the UK and also a FLAIR Fellow (Future Leaders-African Independent Research fellow) funded by the Royal Society. Prof Nakimuli serves on several national and international committees, including the National Safemotherhood Expert Committee (NASMEC). She is committed to building maternal and newborn research capacity in Africa, working with African and International colleagues.



Vice President

Professor Valentino M. Lema

Secretary General

Professor Bellington Vwalika

Vice Secretary General and Acting Registrar

Professor Dereje Negussie

Chair of Education, Scientific and Research Committee

Professor Stephen Rulisa

Chair of Examinations and Credentials Committee

Dr. Francis Chiwora

Chair of Finance and General Purposes Committee

Dr. Solomon Orero

Honorable Treasurer

Dr. Barageine Justus Kafunjo

Country Representative

Name Country
Dr. Georges RuziganaRwanda
Dr. Michael MugabaRwanda
Dr. Fadhlun AwlyTanzania
Dr. Luzango MaembeTanzania
Dr. Musonda MakasaZambia
Dr. Aubrey ShanziZambia
Dr. Peter NtuyoUganda
Dr. Atuhaire SusanUganda
Dr Shiferaw NegashEthiopia
Dr. Kennedy OnyangoKenya
Dr. Soita MusimbiKenya
Dr. Eduardo MatedianeMozambique
Dr. Eulalia MacovelaMozambique
Dr.Gladys GamaMalawi
Dr. Taurai ChitsekoMalawi
Dr. Garang Dakjur Lueth South Sudan
Dr. Moses Maror Ayuel South Sudan
Dr. Francis ChiworaZimbabwe
Dr. Gerald MadziireZimbambwe

Country Coordinators

Samuel MuyindaUganda
Abel AnaniaTanzania
Neriser SibandaZimbabwe
Angelique IteteRwanda
Consolata HaloweKenya
Eugine KaundaZambia
Ignasio WachepaMalawi